19 July 2014

Join the 24-Hour Worldwide Indexing Event - and Hangout!


Join volunteers from around the world on July 20 and 21st for an international history-making event! The goal is to get OVER 50,000 indexers and arbitrators to submit at least one batch during the 24-hour period. Even if you have never indexed before, this is the time to get started.



Only hours away!


This is going to take everyone's help. Even yours! No matter what language you speak or read you can add to this event. It's been two years since the first Worldwide Indexing Event and a total of 49,025 people participated. Let's beat that old record!

You can work on any project you like but FamilySearch suggests that you work on the following projects in your native language, if possible. 

  • US—Obituaries, 1980–2014
  • US—Passport Applications, 1795-1925
  • US, New Orleans—Passenger Lists, 1820-1902
  • UK, Manchester—Parish Registers, 1787-1999

If you haven't had a great deal of experience I'd suggest you give the obituaries a try. Even though they are listed under the "intermediate" category, rather than "beginner", you will find most of them typewritten. You just need to identify the people listed in the obituary by type, i.e. deceased, family, other. Be sure to look at the project instructions included with the download. Most of the these batches include only five obituaries.

The record-setting even begins at 00.00 coordinated universal time (UTC) on July 21st. Here are a few times based on time zones. All event times end 24-hours later.

  • US Eastern Time Zone - 8:00 p.m. on Sunday, July 20th
  • US Mountain Time Zone - 6:00 p.m. on Sunday, July 20th
  • US Alaska, Anchorage - 4:00 p.m. on Sunday, July 20th
  • England, London - 1:00 a.m. on Sunday, July 20th
  • Australia, Sydney - 10:00 a.m. on Monday, July 21th

  • Come on and join in the fun! Let's make this happen and help families around the world find their ancestors!

    And, if you really want to have a great time and jump into the excitement, join our own DEAR MYRT online! She is hosting a 24-hour GeneaSleepOver hangout on air! For all the fun details jump on over to her site. It begins at 6:00 p.m. Mountain Daylight time on Sunday evening. And, if you have never participated in one, this is the one to start with!



    Let's break the record!!